Russell Vineyard

The Russell Vineyard is located deep in the Corral de Tierra at the foot of Mount Toro between the Santa Lucia Highlands and the Carmel Valley in Monterey County in what John Steinbeck called “the pastures of heaven”. There are five varietals grown at the Russell Vineyard: Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, and Riesling. These vineyards were planted in 1998, and originally there was only Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Merlot.  The Cabernet Franc was added several years ago to the Lower Estate; the Riesling was planted in 2013. The grapes grown at the Russell Vineyard are 100% organic and sustainable practices are used in farming. The Russell Vineyards uses owl hutches, ladybugs and lavender to manage pests, while avoiding herbicides and fertilizer through the use of cover crops, netting and fencing. This vineyard is run entirely on solar energy, and hand farming practices are used whenever possible.